top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAndrew Edginton

How I created my first Acrylic painting on paper


I personally think that the more detail there is: the better. One could relate my outlook to photography, the best images are the ones that capture the essence of an animal, through either recording as much detail as possible or photographing a particular movement in it's surrounding atmosphere. These are often heavily linked and I always strive to create this in my work.  When I began painting I initially found an attraction to the medium of watercolour. Although there is little margin for error, I found that I could manipulate the paint like no other. I could capture a minute detail with the finest of brushes and create a sense of depth by adding layers upon layers. In addition to the misconception that acrylics were rather 'stodgy' and 'heavy' and many false starts, I admittedly ignored the medium entirely. Yes I am extremely pleased with my watercolour pictures and I will continue to use watercolour but I cannot deny my sheer admiration for what acrylics and oils can do. From visiting the birdfair and the Natural Eye exhibition in the Mall I witnessed the volume, fullness and vividness that acrylics can create. In particular, I was most impressed with the atmosphere and the background aspect as I always think that watercolour backgrounds are more of an impression. Obviously this is not always the case. Moreover from seeing this, I self-noted that if they can do it so can I. I'd love to be able to create an image that really pulls the viewer into the feeling of excitement I get when I witness wildlife as I'm sure everyone knows. With the help and inspiration I received from Chris Rose, one of the best artists in the modern day I think, I learnt a few techniques to get me started. The main one is that detail is possible with acrylics if you use it thinly in layers. So this was my first attempt at a full acrylic painting on paper. I wanted to experiment and see what I could create from the experience I had gained through using watercolour. An image of a House Sparrow I had captured on lichen-plastered corrugated iron, with a golden light that illuminated the bird was a perfect start. This is how I did it! 1.Stretching the paper and sketching the image.

After stretching the paper and letting it dry I covered it in a a thin layer of coloured gesso. Once dried I then used a very thin layer of paint to sketch out my image rather crudely. I added slightly thicker paint where I new I wanted it darker. This allowed me to get a sense of depth in the image.  2. Adding some colour

 I started adding some colour with thin acrylic paint so I could again get a sense of how it was going to look. This also covered the gesso and blocked the colours in.  3.Building detail

 Still using fairly thin paint I experiment with using different brushes to create texture. I started adding the darkest tones in as well. 4. Base coat for the Sparrow

 Blocked in the darkest tones of the Sparrow. This will in the end allow me to create a many layers of paint and hopefully make the bird seem more realistic. 5. Creating depth

 I now was very particular in the colour I used. I new the very lightest tones were on the Sparrow and the metal is perched on so I saved it for them. I continued adding layers of thin layers of acrylic and this allowed me to better control tones and detail, rather than messing up through trying to capture the first time. This proved most important in the bird. 6. Finishing touches.

Using thicker paint, with little or no water, I added the lightest tones. This made the image really stand out. Overall I'm pleased with this painting but there is a lot of space to improved. At least I no longer dread having to the medium. I hope you enjoyed this post and thank you for reading.




35 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page